Devotion

Ice Cream is an incredibly important part of my life.

It has be SO HOT in Oakland recently.  Honestly, too hot.  So hot I had to buy a fan (not whir-whir, the kind the Karl Lagerfeld uses).  And then said fan broke from so much use.

Sometimes the heat gives me a headache, and sometimes when I’m having a bad day I have an irrepressible NEED to eat Ice Cream BEFORE lunch.  I had one of those days the other day.  

My mecca for all things artisinal Ice Cream is the beautiful Ici on College Avenue.

 

The brilliant Mary Canales, wife of my other hero Paul Canales, executive chef at Oliveto, opened the doors to Ici in 2006.  She and her staff use only organic farm-fresh ingredients and create flavors in small batches that are meant to be eaten quickly.  Aside from the ice cream, I love Ici’s decor.  The daily flavors are hung in black frames from rasberry-colored French silk ribbon, which looks incredible against the icy-light-blue-teal and white tiled walls: 

My absolute, hands-down favorite is Meyer Lemon Ice Cream.  IT IS TO DIE FOR.  Strangely I did not understand the nuance and beauty of Meyer lemons until the Ici ice cream flavor.  It’s crazy.  The herbal citrus flavor combined with the creaminess of the ice cream is unparallelled.  So refreshing!

Here’s a sneak-peak into the kitchen:

Cool signage:

And the goodies by the register: 

Menu from the date of my visit:

Treats: Hazelnut, Chocolate Chip, or Rose-Pistachio Meringues, Cardamom Semolina Cookies, Cinnamon Pecan Brittle, Coconut Macaroons, Double Chocolate Chip Cookies, Almond-Cacao Nib Brittle, Pecan Mexican Wedding Cakes, Peppermint Marshmallows

Bombes (beautifully sculpted ice-cream cakes without the cake): Boysenberry and Lemon Baked Alask, Individual Strawberry-Lemon or Malted Milk Chocolate Ice Cream Bombes, Amerena Cherry and Chocolate Ice Cream Bombes

Flavors: Earl Grey, Pink Peppercorn Ice Cream, Orange Creamsicle Sherbet, Bourbon-Pecan Ice Cream, Chocolate Ice Cream, Vanilla Ice Cream, Boysenberry Ice Cream, etc.

The ice cream is served in a cup or in a cone; they came up with a brilliant idea for the cones: fill the bottom with chocolate so they don’t drip!

AND all of their packaging is compostible:

AND they always have fresh flowers on hand:

As for the ice cream, I’ll have to go back.  I ate it too quickly to get a picture!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Devotion

  1. soother1978

    SOOTHE

    but I got fat this summer so I am glad Ici isn’t around the corner from me

  2. sam

    i got fat this summer too, but surprisingly never stepped in ici once. when are you going to take me, woman? i’m chubbs already…it couldn’t hurt!

  3. Pingback: A Busy Day « A Rockridge Life

  4. Pingback: This Chick and Her Food Writing Soothe « A Rockridge Life

  5. Pingback: Things that Soothe: I do not live in New York! « A Rockridge Life

  6. Pingback: Update Your Bookmarks « A Rockridge Life

Leave a Reply

