Big Persimmon Go Plop

I grew up in a small one-story craftsman style house in Los Angeles.  The garden was L-shaped and wrapped around the house.  Outside my bedroom window was a brick patio.  Above the brick patio was a large mature persimmon tree.  Every year the fruit would ripen, get heavy with juices, and fall to the hard brick patio; Big Persimmon Go Plop!  My brother and I would say each time.  The fruit would splatter everywhere and its sticky sweetness would attract flies.  There was a less that pleasant odor that accompanied the plethora of rotting fruit, too much falling too frequently to keep clear from the patio.  My mother would pick hundreds of persimmons each year with our tall fruit picker.  The picker had a wire basket at the top with wire fingers that grabbed and broke the fruit off at its stem.  We had one that looked like this:

We had a few other vintage style pickers too that are too old to appear on google image searches.  My mother would fill dozens of brown grocery bags and try to pass the things off as presents to little avail.

A few years ago I noticed mention of persimmon (especially the Japanese varietal) on some menus and noticed that somehow, along with the slow food movement, persimmons were coming into vogue.

Here are a few I found in the blocks surrounding my craftsman house in Rockridge.  Even though I hated them as a child I have a strange fetish for them now–at least seeing them.  I still wouldn’t eat them, but they look beautiful ripening on the tree.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Big Persimmon Go Plop

  1. KRB

    I always loved that persimmon tree. And Melrose Hill in general. How on earth can you not like persimmons though? I think you need to revisit them as they make a most delicious desert.

  2. bushero

    persimmons can be delicious . . . you must try a yummy one . . . phenom.

  3. Pingback: A Wintry View of Rockridge « A Rockridge Life

Leave a Reply

