I’m Rarely Jealous

But Mrs. Blandings Flair Annual find has me a little on the green side.

I was lucky enough to be given several original issues of Flair back in 1999 when I was working the desk at Hollyhock.  A kind client thought it was darling that a teenager shop girl thought Flair was “it” and brought in a couple watermarked copies from her attic for me. 

But this Flair Annual has my vintage copies beat.

Here’s an image of the open book:

Some amazing garden illustrations:

and an owl with a butterfly for a face:

I just love that owl.  It’s like kitsch crossed with fashion crossed with botanicals.  LOVE IT.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I’m Rarely Jealous

  1. Don’t be envious! Be diligent! They are out there. And the owl illustration is Salvadore Dali. I’m not really helping, am I?

    p.s. I am actually filled with envy that someone GAVE you the original issues. While you worked at Hollyhock. Envy x2.

Leave a Reply

