The Dinner Table Report

Last night I made Fennel-Rubbed Pork Loin with Roasted Fennel Wedges (available on epicurious.com or in this month’s Gourmet Magazine). 

I love pork loin and am always on the look out for new recipes for it so when I saw this as I was browsing epicurious for a dinner recipe I decided right away I’d try it.

Overall it was a huge success.  I. liked it even though he thinks he doesn’t like fennel (roasted fennel root doesn’t taste anything like raw fennel) and the pork turned out juicy.  As one of the comments on epicurious states, 15 minutes at 350 is hardly enough time for the loin to cook.  I think mine was in a 350 for more like 25 minutes, but I relied on a meat thermometer to read between 140 and 145.  

I’d like to experiment with adding another ingredient to this recipe to add a dash of sweetness.  Pork tends to benefit from a sweet flavor, and although this dish was far from sour, there was just something missing.  I wonder what would happen if another, sweeter alcohol was substituted for the wine.  

Oh-and this recipe gets extra points for being SO SIMPLE.  There is really hardly any prep involved.  I did it as a simple one-dish meal without even a salad on the side and we were totally satisfied.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Dinner Table Report

  1. Sounds delish! Make it for me some time?

    Also, check this out:
    http://rimpletide.wordpress.com/2009/01/24/i-and-i/

  2. soother1978

    this sounds like the ultimate in soothe. I bought that soothing flower poster that you posted about. That also really soothed me.

Leave a Reply

