It’s Fashion Week Somewhere

venacavaPhoto by Olivia Jade Horner

While we in Rockridge are as distant as can be from the front row, Fashion Week marches on in New York.  There’s no better place for vicarious front row viewing than our friends at Refinery29.com.  Not only is the Pipeline blog being updated around the clock (honestly, so many updates we can’t keep up), R29 has made the bold move of twittering the shows and parties.  We all love Vogue as an institution, but Style.com pales in comparison to R29’s honest and pleasantly snarky reportage. 

My favorite posts are R29’s “a minute with…” posts.  So far we’ve heard from Rachel Zoe (she’s bland) and Susie Bubble, of Style Bubble, whose bangs really soothe me (that does not mean you should all run out and get blunt bangs–it doesn’t work on everyone–but Susie works them hard). 

As usual I am BLOWN AWAY with the Vena Cava presentation, and just SICK that I wasn’t there.  The Marisa Tesauro installation looks phenomenal, I only wish we could get even more photo coverage.  The clothes rock, rock, rock.  And while Style.com isn’t my standby for fresh fashion news, they did get my favorite quote from Vena Cava designer Sophi Buhai:

“If we were acoustic before, now we’re digital,”

Vena Cava’s move to digital in 2009 might have just eclipsed Dylan’s move to electric in ’65.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “It’s Fashion Week Somewhere

  1. Anderson Cooper

    But will it also eclipse Dylan’s move to the Bay Area in 2009?

  2. Cindy

    Sorry…but bangs like Susie’s just do nothing for you. They actually make you look like a kid. The longer side swept ones work much better on an adult.

    And Dylan going electric wasn’t that great IMO. I like the acoustics better

  3. Cindy

    UMM..just thought that I should add that to me Dylan is just EHHH! I don’t see the big deal with people loving him. I just don’t!

Leave a Reply

