We are in a Drought

In case you hadn’t heard.  For updates on “how bad [it is]” check out the California Department of Water Resources

I’ve had to seriously ration my bathing-for-relaxation habit.  Not soothing.

On the other hand, I feel I’m doing a good part of my “part” with my lavender and gravel garden (and never watering the roses that have survived on their own probably a good half-century).

If you aren’t a big gravel person, another great option for ground cover that is both functional for A Rockridge Life and beautiful is Fragaria chiloensis, or beach strawberry.  Some of my neighbors have used it in their gardens.  As I was walking by today I noticed that the little guys have actually starting blooming, in spite of all the dryness:

strawberriesAren’t they gorgeous?

I’m strongly considering it for the back garden that I’m currently reworking.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

