Hardly Brackett-worthy, but what is?

I fought to pull it together tonight for a casual outdoor dinner with family.  We hadn’t seen these guys in a while in spite of the fact we live about a twelve-minute walk apart (it was that kind of semester).  I was uncharacteristically exhausted this afternoon I found myself debating with I. about whether to order Zachary’s (an East Bay thing I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to convert to after living in New York for as long as I did–I’ll never forget the first time I had it at my mother-in-law’s house–Chicago-style pizza??? Qu-est-ce que c’est??!!  At this point I eat it and I enjoy it, but I don’t ever think I’ll totally get it).

Suffice it to say it wasn’t my finest moment in the kitchen (or at the grill for that matter) but I love this super easy recipe for grilling.  You prepare a sort of relish of garlic, paprika, lemon, parsley, and olive oil (which takes about five minutes) and then do a simple grill; could be vegetables, seafood, or steak.  Cook to your liking then simply drizzle the sauce over your vegetables, seafood, what have you.  I’ve done it with halibut, cod, and mixed vegetables (peppers, zucchini, onion etc.) so far, and everyone is happy.  Technically I haven’t tried this with steak, but I think it would be perfect.  The epicurious recipe says it’s for seafood–try it and let me know what you think.  Here’s the cod from tonight:

paprika

Click here for the original recipe. They call it a “dressing” but I like stretching the definition of “relish,” just for fun.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hardly Brackett-worthy, but what is?

  1. LOL. I live next door to my parents – we go weeks without talking. I’ve often thought we would interact more if there was some distance between us. As it is, I can see what they’re up to and them me and so chatting is superfluous. A sad commentary.

    As for the recipe, I’m going to give that a whirl. Sounds wonderful.

    Connie

Leave a Reply

