Donostia–San Sebastian

san sebastian

Town Hall

We made our second trip to Donostia/San Sebastian yesterday.  The first time we went was our first day in Spain, and I was too exhausted to really enjoy it.  When we returned yesterday I was really hoping for magic.  Parking was very hard to find, so the forty-five minutes driving around searching took a bit of the excitement away.  But we were happy once we found a lot on the far east side of town across the Urumea River.

Our walk started there, on the boardwalk of La Zurriolo, where most of the surfers congregate.  There is a great long boardwalk that runs the whole length of the city.  From La Zurriolo we walked around Mount Urgull, past the aquarium, all the way to La Concha and Ondaretta beaches.  The walk was a great way to enjoy the views from the coast.

We walked inland to the old quarter, but after so long in the country, the city that is San Sebastian felt frenetic.  Too many people, too many cars, too much construction.  While I loved many of the buildings, the city didn’t produce the relaxing atmosphere rich with Basque cuisine that I was looking for.  So I did what any rational person in my situation would do–head straight for the capital of soothe–Getaria, the epicenter of Txacoli winemaking.

donostia building

One of my favorite buildings I spied on my walk

building faces

Look at the faces!

building tilework

Blue and gold–one of my favorite color combinations

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Donostia–San Sebastian

  1. Dah7lin

    In my mind’s eye I am looking at you taking the photograph from the upper balcony window.

  2. I can’t stop reading your daily journey in Pais Vasco!
    Ya hemos visto que te encanta el txakoli! :)))

Leave a Reply

