L.A. Recap/Highlights

It never ceases to amaze me that I grew up in L.A., let alone lived there for so long, because I just don’t like it at all.  And in spite of wide-spread world-wide hatred of the place, in my circle I seem to be alone in this.  My friends who grew up in L.A. and still live there love it (naturally), but so do my L.A.-to-New York transplant friends, who will never leave New York, but still find L.A. and amusing oddity.  I just don’t think I could ever live there.  Between the bad air, the traffic, and the silly airhead population (it could be just the waiters and waitresses, but either way, very unappetizing) I just don’t know how I ever did it.  I managed to enjoy spending time with my family, and doing a few other activities I can share here.

Woo Lae Oak Beverly Hills

I’ll never get over the loss of the original Western location I grew up with.  That said, Woo Lae Oak still feels a little like going home.  I got a great Chopin dirty martini too.

Santa Monica Beach

beach

Hama Sushi Little Tokyo

Everyone seems to love this place.  I think they had an off-night, but it didn’t matter too much because I had great company.  My dear dear friend Noelle and I met up for the hour-long wait, and then happened to run into two of her good friends Cheryl and Elizabeth, who were a total blast.  It made up for the fact that the sushi chef was rude and “doesn’t do omikase.”  What kind of sushi chef doesn’t?

Redwood Bar featuring C.W. Stoneking

Already covered that (see last post).

Another Day on Santa Monica Beach

santamonica

Palm Trees

I like the seeds.

palm

palm close

Flux Super 8 opening, Culver City

A very fun night.  Great work by all the artists, and a fun crowd.

openingTerri Timely’s Synesthesia installation

The show features the work of “eight of the most exciting and emerging filmmakers, video artists, and design collectives from around the world.”  The super eight are:

The Blackheart Gang (Cape Town, South Africa); Max Erdenberger (Portland, USA); Saam Farahmand (London, UK); Sophie Gateau (Paris, France); Miwa Matreyek (Los Angeles, USA); Terri Timely (San Francisco, USA); United Visual Artists (UVA) (London, UK); YesYesNo (Amsterdam, NL + New York, NY + London, UK).

opening2

——

littleguy

Father’s Office

Open late, and a truly spectacular burger.  But too many rules.  At Hama it’s no omikase, here it’s no vodka?  And you aren’t allowed to put ketchup on your burger.  Still, a great experience–thanks to John and Noelle in large part.

I’m glad to be home…if not for long.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment