Saddleshoos is BACK!

It was a long week and a long weekend, but we have a new administration (almost) it’s Thanksgiving break (almost) and Saddleshoos is back!

Once again, a big thank you to Refinery29 for having Saddleshoos’ back!

I love that they got saddle shoes in a variety of colors.  I’m still searching for the perfect pair.  I want classic black and white, with a narrow, feminine cut, soft-ish soles, and the classic lace-up (none of this saddle shoes posing as flats or heels NO!).  My favorites I’ve found so far would have to be shipped all the way from down under:

saddle But I have to say, they are close to perfect.  They also come in blue/white, red/white, yellow/white, hot pink/white, (regular) pink/white, and leopard/black. 

I also picked up an AMAZING pair at my favorite thrift store, Alta Bates Hospital thrift store on College Avenue.  They’re Ferragamo’s, perfect condition, and an effing AAA width.  WTF.  I’ve tried wearing them and they hurt, so I’m going to try to get them stretched.  For $30, they were worth displaying in my closet:

saddle1

They are made of this great pebble-texture leather.  So beautiful.  

Here’s Orlando Bloom showing us the importance of same-color laces with saddle shoes, so much more chic, less the 50’s Ed Debevic’s element:

orlandoUnfortunately, he loses points for the mismatched socks.  Not soothing.  Also he’s pretty much a cheeseball.  Please do not read that I’m advocating for Orlando Bloom or his style in general.  I simply found this image when Google image-searching saddle shoes.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Saddleshoos is BACK!

  1. Rachel C-R

    You are hilarious. I love you.

  2. soother1978

    I find the mismatched socks semi soothing , but I’m clearly misguided

    Plus yes, Orlando is cheese, but he’s kinda hot, particularly in this picture without his newfound lame pencil mustache

    Ultimately you soothe, and that’s what matters

  3. LOVE saddle shoes! they’re so cute!

  4. sam

    i agree, you do soothe. i’m glad you have a blog so i can feel like you haven’t completely disappeared out of my life! 🙂

  5. KRB

    I maintain that I didn’t go to Marlborough because they changed the uniform from those darling pastel shirt dresses with the saddle shoes. Such a shame.

    Also, the mismatched socks, although not my taste, are very David Hockney. Don’t you remember when EF went through that phase where she wore mismatched socks? ‘cept her’s were like electric orange and neon green.

Leave a Reply

