Flower of the Day: Poppies

I have been meaning to capture the bearded irises of Rockridge, but by the time I got around to it most were brown and shriveled.  Perhaps there will be one more bloom cycle before the season is over.  In the mean time, in my search for irises I came across a ton of poppies.  Here they are:

fringed red

magenta

magenta2

poppies low

red poppieS

big red

large white poppies

Romneya coulteri (matilla poppy)

That last picture is my favorite.  [Rimpletide mentions that I might want to mention Amitav Ghosh’s new book Sea of Poppies (re: opium wars) here.  This post should be titled See of Poppies (re: Rockridge life).]

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Flower of the Day: Poppies

  1. natch/chortle re: last bit o text

    soothe/ah re: soothing fotos of poppies!

Leave a comment